Labels

So today’s post is going to be a little bit less research based and a little more personal opinion based. For those who aren’t aware, many of us on the Autism spectrum don’t like being labeled.

Labels. Do I mean the pieces of paper that identify what something is? I guess in a way. See, ableist people seem to like labeling Autistic individuals based on where they think that person belongs on the Autism spectrum. Generally those labels are “high functioning”, “low functioning”, or anywhere in between.

So, what’s the difference between both ends?

Well, someone who is labeled as “high functioning” is seen by society as someone who is able to live independently, have a job, is verbal, basically they are someone who is able to “pass” is neurotypical according to society.

Society therefore views someone who is non-verbal, is unable to hold a job, and can’t live independently as someone who is “low functioning”.

 

Maybe you’re wondering, what’s the big deal?

Well, basically what society is doing by labeling Autistic individuals is deciding who has a better capability of “passing” as neurotypical. The problem being, why is pretending to be someone we’re not the ultimate goal?

On top of that, when you label someone as “high functioning” or “low functioning” generally you’re invalidating all of the struggles that “high functioning” individuals have and completely dismissing the individuals that are deemed “low functioning”.

 

Maybe you’re thinking that there’s some truth to the labels?

The first time I ever really realized why I disliked being labeled as “high functioning” was when I read this post by utterlyafk. It summed up things in a way I never really could express myself.

When I went to get tested I was doing pretty alright, I had a job and I was in school and I had a few close friends. So, to the psychologist who tested me I was pretty much the textbook case of “high functioning”. Now though, I am out of work, I am taking one class online because I can’t handle the stress of a huge workload, I hardly keep in touch with anyone, and I go nonverbal quite often. Had I gone for a diagnosis now I would have been labeled “low functioning”. My label was determined based on how I was doing when I went to get a diagnosis.

 

Why does any of this matter?

For one thing, Autistic individuals will likely get annoyed if you label them. How would you feel if I labeled you based on your ability to do everyday tasks? Oh, you burnt dinner today? Must be low functioning. A persons entire existence can’t be boiled down to a label like this.

For another thing, no one wants to give “high functioning” Autistics any supports or accommodations. No one wants to help those who are “high functioning” because there’s “nothing wrong with them”. They have Autism just as much as another Autistic person, because we all have Autism.

Leave a comment